Name of Local Governing Body: Kirkby High School

The remit for the Governing Body is to:

  1. Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff;
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent; and
  4. Ensuring the voices of stakeholders are heard.

RLT Trustees and Members


Attendance 2023-2024

Attendance 2022-2023

Attendance 2021-2022

Attendance 2020-2021

Attendance 2019-2020

Attendance 2018-2019 

Rowan Learning Trust Responsibilities and Authorities of Members and SIT

RLT Code of Conduct

Governing Body Composition:

Type of Governor No.
Trust 6
Parent (2 Vacancies) 
Staff 2



Name Type of Governor Appointed By Date of Appointment Term of Office end date Date of resignation Name of Business/Associated Person Date interest began
Mrs J Henney


Trust Trust 26.03.21 25.03.25
  • Nugent - CEO
  • Chair of Trustees Emmaus Merseyside
  • Trustee of Nugent Academy Trust
  • Trustee - Emmaus UK
  • Chair - Wirral Metropolitan College
May 2023

Sept 2019


Sept 2019

Nov 2022

Dec 2023

Ms V Roberts Trust Trust 01.09.18 31.08.26
  • Education Consultation
  • Ofsted Inspector
  • Chair of Kirkby Collaborative
September 2023

May 2024

Mr J Ryan Trust Trust 13.12.18 12.12.26
  • Head of Student Welfare & Well-being.
  • Liverpool Hope University
Mr R Singh Trust Trust 17.11.23 16.11.26
  • Deputy Headteacher at Saint John Henry Newman Catholic College
Mr D Mullen Trust Trust 26.01.24 25.01.28
  • Assistant Headteacher/SENDCO at West Lancs High School
Mrs M Bond Trust Trust 22.03.24 21.03.28 None
Mrs A Quinn Staff (Teaching) Staff (Teaching) 19.06.23 18.06.25 None
Mr A Barton Staff (Support) Staff (Support) 04.12.18 03.12.24 None
Mrs A Dobson Headteacher Ex-officio 20.02.23
Mrs R Conefrey Director of Secondary Education, RLT Ex-officio 20.02.23
Mrs J Barrett Clerk to Governors 01.09.14 None
Mr R French Trust Trust 26.03.21 25.03.25 15.08.23
Ms J Walsh Parent Parents 15.04.21 14.04.23 03.11.22
Mr J Carroll Staff (Teaching) Staff (Teaching) 01.09.18 05.06.23
Mrs N Jones Parent Parents 13.10.20 12.10.22 12.10.22
Mr D J Leonard Trust Trust 01.09.19 31.08.23 31.08.23
Mr W Foy Trust Trust 04.12.18 31.12.22 31.08.22
Mr M Williams Trust Trust 01.09.20 31.08.24 28.10.21
Mr J Robinson Trust Trust 21.03.20 20.03.24 31.08.21
Mrs C James Parent Parent 04.12.18 31.12.22 09.06.20
Mr P Bousfield Trust Trust 26.06.20 25.06.24 11.11.20

Specific Responsibilities

Responsibility Name SLT/School Link
Chair of Governors Mrs J Henney
Vice Chair of Governors Mrs M Bond
Safeguarding Governor Mrs J Henney Mrs J Rigby
SEND Governor Mrs A Quinn Mr J Carroll
LAC Governor Mrs J Henney Mrs J Rigby
Health and Safety Governor Mrs V Roberts Mrs L Hughes
Pupil Premium Governor Mrs J Henney Mr T Greenhalgh
LGBTQIA+ Rep Mrs M Bond Mr J Greenbank
Pastoral and Attendance Governor Mrs J Henney Mrs M Turner/Mrs R Butler
Quality of Education Mrs J Henney Mrs A Smith
CIEAG Mrs M Bond Mr T Merrett
Clerk Mrs J Barrett

A to Z of Common Education Acronyms

Please click here for A to Z of Common Education Acronyms


Parent Governor Vacancy

Parent Governor Advert 

Parent Governor Elections Letter

Parent governor nomination form

Parent Governor Ballot Paper May 2024